District News

 
Kingian Nonviolence Training Opportunity!!

Plant Justice, Grow Peace and the Discipleship Team of the MI District Church of the Brethren invite you to join a 16-Hour Core Training on Kingian Nonviolence!

Come and join others from the Michigan District of the Church of the Brethren and invited guests from March through May for a transformational course exploring Martin Luther King, Jr.’s  philosophy and methodology of nonviolence. 

This course will include special attention to Christian spiritual formation for nonviolence, grounded in Dr. King’s sermons and writings, and time for spiritual discipline and socio-theological reflection. 

This capacity-building and community-building training is for people affiliated with the Michigan District of the Church of the Brethren and their invited guests. If you have any questions, please contact us at knv-training@OnEarthPeace.org

The training will start on Tuesday, March 22 and end on May 17 for a total of 8 weeks. (We will skip class on April 12 for Holy Week.) 

Dates: March 22, March 29, April 5, April 19, April 26, May 3, May 10, and May 17

Times (same time each week):  3:30pm-5:30pm Eastern (12:30pm-2:30pm Pacific / 1:30pm-3:30pm Mountain / 2:30-4:30pm Central)

Click here to find the start time in your time zone!

Cost: There is no set fee to attend as this workshop is offered on a gift basis. More information will be provided for those attending. Your contribution will help us continue to provide these events. Click here to make a donation. 

Content: 

  • 4 Pillars of Kingian Nonviolence 
  • Social Dynamics of Nonviolence 
  • 6 Principles (the will) how to view and transform conflict
  • 6 Steps (the skill) how to engage with conflict and organize a campaign
  • Definitions of violence 
  • Types and levels of conflict, and how they escalate and de-escalate
  • Dialectical Thinking 

Facilitation Team: Sara Haldeman-Scarr (pastor, First CoB, San Diego, CA), Kimberly Koczan (spiritual director, Beacon Heights CoB, Ft Wayne, IN)

If you are interested, please RSVP here!

Isis Santoni Morro
http://www.onearthpeace.org/